Why I’m Throwing My Arms Around The Secret & The Quirky

What's in a name?
What’s in a name?

Tonight, I set myself in a corner of edu-Twitter and began to decorate it with cushions and a throw. I lit a candle (not too close to the textiles) and poured three glasses of wine. One for me; one for the Secret Teacher; and the third for the Quirky Teacher. [adjusts cushion]

Yes, every Saturday we convene to berate the latest ST for dragging our profession through a playground strewn with broken glass and hypodermic needles. And, yes, we marvel at the brazen instrumentalism of QT as s/he writhes in his/her progressive strait-jacket. [sets candle off-centre and squares off coasters]

And, ultimately, we resolve to ourselves not to dignify a word of anonymously-scribed invective. This is not ‘truth to power’; it is sour grapes with impunity. [pours a bowl of Nik Naks]

But, whilst we are as entitled to opine as ST and QT, and comment upon their cloaked personae; whilst we speculate upon their who-abouts, and deride them as lacking in the courage of conviction that is implicit in putting one’s name to one’s writing, let’s not ostracize them any further than they have themselves.

They, like me, are anonymous for reasons.

They, like me, may have learned (from adversity) not to be free and easy with identity.

They, like me, may desperately want to be known to you, but far too fearful of repercussions too great to dally with.

[the doorbell rings and I rise expectantly]

6 thoughts on “Why I’m Throwing My Arms Around The Secret & The Quirky

  1. The debate over anonymity is a bit of a non-debate in my eyes. How does knowing the name of a person make what he/she blogs or tweets more acceptable? I’m not anonymous but do you “know” me any more than you do QT? Let people participate in the debate anonymously if they want to. You don’t like what they say? That’s fine. Engage with them rather than berate them for not telling you their name. Many people who are on Twitter under their own name have come under attack by people from the ” opposing camp”. Others who were anonymous have been “exposed” and have deleted Twitter accounts/blogs.Is it any wonder that others have decided not to expose themselves to this sort of behaviour and remain anonymous? If you really can’t debate policy/education etc on Twitter or via blogs without knowing the name of the person then assume QT/ST is Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms Smith and let’s start talking. As far as I’m concerned I’m quite happy to talk to Mr/Ms Whatonomy/QT/ST without needing to know “who” they are.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sour grapes? Bit harsh!

    Yes, there are very good reasons for anonymity. Your corner of edu-twitter sounds lovely and I am tempted to join, so thank you for your hospitality! However, one of reasons I am not on twitter is that I worry that I would end up glued to my phone (which is dying and has no spare RAM for a twitter app)!

    The upside of not being no twitter is that I am prevented from indulging in personal attacks and saying the wrong thing in the heat of the moment. So, by staying off twitter I am training myself to take a slightly more objective view, to stand back and mull over the most recent thoughts and opinions before writing a considered blog post myself. Yes, my style of writing is viewed as acerbic (not intentional, I’m not a fan of sugar-coating because I think it’s patronising), but I try to steer clear of pointing the finger at and naming individual people. Instead, I focus on pointing the finger at fads, cults and ideologies.

    Having said that, I am toying with the idea of bursting onto twitter on the 1st January 2017. Should said bursting happen, I look forward to getting involved in some great debates (I’m a big fan of debating).

    Mine’s a full-bodied red, please. And I’ll have some of those scampi flavoured nik-naks.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Why do we have such an issue with anonymity, I wonder? There are many people I talk with in the Twitter world whose names I do not know. On the other hand. There are many whose names I do know, but they are no more known to me than those with anonymous handles. I reveal no more or no less to those with faceless identities- I base my conversations on what people have to say, not on what their names are.
    My blog doesn’t contain my name, nor does it carry my image, but I publicise it on my named Twitter account. I made the decision not to name my blog after me, but not because I am afraid of repercussions. I guess I have opted for an anonymity-middle-ground, but I hope this doesn’t deter others from reading what I have to say.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hope so too, and I’m sure it doesn’t. Anonymity usually only becomes an issue when someone disagrees with you and wants to find out more about you. I am anonymous online quite simply because I do not want to be searchable by name. I do share my identity directly with those who ask, but never as a broadcast. Otherwise, Mick Hucknall might get me!

      Liked by 2 people

Was it something I said?

