On Rhetoric: A lesson Plan

When teaching persuasive speech and writing, or indeed when teaching the writing of an argumentative piece, why not use the classical terminology? This model is actually more thorough and practical than many I’ve seen. And it has that wonderful flavour of “secret knowledge”!

Trivium21c

Aristotle by Raphael

I was asked by a teacher, at a talk I was giving on oracy, if I have a lesson plan which she could use to teach Rhetoric ‘simply and in one lesson.’ I replied ‘yes!’ 

And here it is:

In order to teach this lesson it is a good idea to ‘use’ the art of rhetoric in order to teach, delight and move your class, these were Cicero’s three principles of Oratory: to teach, to delight and to move. However, here, I am not trying to persuade you of the need for the teaching of rhetoric rather I am going to be quite mechanical and take you through a lesson plan:

Firstly introduce the ‘Five Parts of Rhetoric’; these are:

1. Invention
2. Arrangement
3. Style
4. Memory
5. Delivery

Then explain what each one is, again, I want to keep it simple.

1. Invention:

This is the content of your…

View original post 409 more words

Was it something I said?

