Teacher or Human? Can we be both?

image
Even the best of us have our moments.

I always feel a pang of guilt when reading blog posts about inspirational teachers or when watching the short Teach Like a Champion videos. Where do these teachers find the time to pay such close attention to the individual needs of their students? I’ll bet if I were to randomly select a copybook from one of their students,  I would find every piece of work clearly assessed with useful, constructive and thoughtful comments. Swines!

But at what cost are these teachers so godlike? Do they have heart attacks aged 65 on the stroke of retirement? Do they have a timetable of only six preps a week? Or are they simply better organised than me? I’d genuinely love to know because I think it’s important that best practice is sustainable and enjoyable for both teacher and student. So the next time we lionize a Champion teacher we should dig more deeply. Too often,  best practice is the road to burnout or a cardiac unit!

[For a more recent meditation on the same issue, read this excellent piece by the formidable Quirky Teacher!]

Was it something I said?

